Brief History of MHA

The establishment of the North East India History Association(NEIHA) in 1979 has served an eye opener and encouragement on the part of Mizo historian to initiate an association on Mizo history. They were convinced that wrong and vested interest interpretation on history is very harmful and therefore it needs very carful handling since it involves the vital question of national integrity and of communal and racial sentiments of the people. With this end in view, Mizo History Association was formed on September 23, 1980 in the office chamber of Darchhawna, Officer –On-Special Duty, NEHU, Mizoram University Campus, by an august body of a few members of Mizo historian. The founder President was Darchhawna while the founder General Secretary was Lalrimawia, Lecturer and Head of Department of History, Pachhunga University College, Aizawl.

The main objective of the association is the promotion and encouragement of the scientific study, systematic writing, analysis and research of the history of the Mizos, holding of conference, seminars and symposium connected with the said history and publication of the proceedings, journals and other works of the Association.

The Association was registered with No. SR 1 of 1981 under the Society Registration Act XXI of 1860 on January 23, 1981. The first General election cum General conference was held on October 25, 1980 at Mizoram State Library Hall, Aizawl. The following members attended the conference :

1. Darchhawna

2. Lalrimawia

3. John V. Hluna

4. JH Pahlira

5. B.Sangkhumi

6. Lalrinawma

7. Zochungnunga

8. Sangkima

9. Lianrema

10. RS Rosangluaia

11. Ngurbiaka

12. Rothanga

The new office bearers of the association, elected in the conference were as follows :

President : Darchhawna, OSD, NEHU, Mizoram Campus

Vice Presidents : JV Hluna, Lecturer, Department of History

Pachhunga University College, Aizawl.

Lalrinawma, Lecturer, Hrangbana College

General Secretary : Lalrimawia, Lecturer and Head of Department of History,

Pachhunga University College, Aizawl.

Joint Secretary : RS Rosangluaia, District Research Officer

Treasurer : B.Sangkhumi, Lecturer,

Pachhunga University College, Aizawl.

The first annual session was held at Aizawl Club during June 18-19, 1981 where Mr F. Malsawma, Education Minister, Mizoram (former Lecturer, Department of Political Science, Pachhunga University College) attended the function as a chief guest.

The Association attained its 25 years of establishment in 2005 and the Silver Jubilee was celebrated in the same year.